Campus Resources

Resources

(Note: This list is an active project by University of Colorado student researcher Annie Brashear. To submit a link or to participate in a peer-review of this project, contact: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ).

 

Advocacy Groups / Campaigns

Campaign for Recycling http://www.campaignforrecycling.org/

Container Recycling Institute http://www.container-recycling.org/

COOL 2012 (Compostable Organics Out of Landfills by 2012 ) http://www.cool2012.com/

Earth’s 911 http://www.earth911.org

Environmental Paper Network http://www.environmentalpaper.org/

Envirolink http://www.envirolink.org/

Grassroots Recycling Network http://www.grrn.org

Green Agenda Network http://www.greenagenda.net/wp/

Green Clean Schools http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org/programs/gcs/about.php

Public Place Recycling http://www.publicplacerecycling.org/

Recycling Guide http://www.recycling-guide.org.uk/

RecycleMania! www.recyclemaniacs.org/

Recycle Now http://www.recyclenow.com/

Recycling Revolution http://www.recycling-revolution.com/recycling-basics.html

Recycling Works! Campaign http://www.recyclingworkscampaign.org/

Rethink Recycling http://www.rethinkrecycling.com/

Reuse Alliance http://www.reusealliance.org/

Second Nature http://www.secondnature.org/

Student Environmental Action Coalition http://www.seac.org/

World Environment Organization http://www.world.org/weo/recycle

 

Articles and Reports
Collective entrepreneurship: the mobilization of college and university recycling coordinators, by Michael Lounsbury

The Greening of a University, by James P. Pellow and Brij Anand

First Steps, by Adam Minter

Investing in Zero Waste…and Green Jobs, by Neil Seldman

The Mixed Blessing of Campus Sustainability, Shery D. Breen

Sustainability trends on campus, by Kerilee Horan

Recycling and Beyond: A College Campus Primer

Under the Green Thumb: Totalitarian Sustainability on Campus, by Adam Kissel

 

Books

Buying for the Future: Contact Management for the Environmental Challenge, by Kevin J. Lyons

Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the way we make things, by William McDonough and Michael Braungart

Ecodemia: Campus Environmental Stewardship at the Turn of the 21st Century: Lessons in Smart Management from Administrators, Staff, and Students, by Julian Keniry
Fostering Sustainable Behavior: An Introduction to Community Based Social Marketing, by Doug McKenzie-Mohr and William Smith

Fat of the Land: garbage in New York: the last two hundred years, by Benjamin Miller

From the cult of waste to the trash heap of history : the politics of waste in socialist and postsocialist Hungary, by Zsuzsa Gille

Garbage In Garbage Out: Solving the Problems with Long-Distance Trash Transport, by Vivian E. Thomson

Garbage in the Cities : refuse, reform, and the environment, by Martin V. Melosi

Garbage Land: on the secret trail of trash, by Elizabeth Royte

Garbage Wars: The struggle for environmental justice in Chicago, by David N. Pellow

Gone Tomorrow: The Hidden Life of Garbage, by Heather Rogers

Greening the Ivory Tower, by Sarah Hammond Creighton
Harvard Business Review on Business and the Environment, by Amory Lovins

Recycling & Beyond: A College Campus Primer (Online) http://pages.uoregon.edu/recycle/Book/index.htm

Stuff: The Secret Lives of Everyday Things, by John C. Ryan and Alan Thein Durnin

The Green Campus: Meeting the Challenge of Environmental Sustainability, by Walter Simpson

Trash Talk: An inspirational guide to saving time and money through better waste and resource management, by Lillian Brummet and Dave Brummet

Trash, by John Knechtel

Waste and Want: a social history of trash, Susan Strasser

World of Waste: dilemmas of industrial development, by K.A. Gourlay

Campus Programs- State

Colorado University Recycling http://recycling.colorado.edu/recycling

Emory University: http://www.fm.emory.edu/recycling/community.html

University of Oregon: http://pages.uoregon.edu/recycle/site_map.htm

University of Minnesota: http://www1.umn.edu/recycle/

Clemson University: http://www.clemson.edu/facilities/recycling/

University of California Davis: http://r4.ucdavis.edu/

University of Missouri: http://extension.missouri.edu/owm/greencampus/recycling.htm

University of Michigan: http://www.plant.bf.umich.edu/grounds/recycle/

Lane: http://www.lanecc.edu/recycle/index.htm

University of California, Berkley: http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~recycle/

University of Massachusetts: http://www.umass.edu/recycle/home.shtml

Auburn University: https://fp.auburn.edu/recycling/

Boston University: http://www.bu.edu/recycling/

University of Pittsburg: http://www.facmgmt.pitt.edu/recycle.htm

Carnegie Mellon University: http://www.cmu.edu/ehs/waste-environment/index.html

Tufts Recycles! www.tuftsrecycles.org

CU-Boulder Links

CU Environmental Center http://ecenter.colorado.edu/index.php

CU Facilities Management http://www.colorado.edu/facilitiesmanagement/about/conservation/index.html

CU Housing and Dining Services http://housing.colorado.edu/index.cfm

CU Athletics/Ralphie’s Green Stampede http://www.cubuffs.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=600&ATCLID=1549954

 

Colorado Organizations (local and state)

Local:

Eco-Cycle http://www.ecocycle.org/

Boulder County Resource Conservation Division / Recycling and Composting

http://www.bouldercounty.org/recycling/

City of Boulder Office of Environmental Affairs/Recycling and Composting

http://www.bouldercolorado.gov/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1324&Itemid=450

ReSource (building materials) http://www.resourceyard.org/

Green Girl Recycling http://www.greengirlrecycling.com/

Western Disposal http://www.westerndisposal.com/

State:

Colorado Association for Recycling http://www.cafr.org/

Colorado Alliance for Environmental Education http://www.caee.org/

Recharge Colorado http://www.rechargecolorado.com/

 

Composting

HowtoCompost.org http://www.howtocompost.org/cat_lgscale.asp

Organics and Composting, R4 Recycling, Chapter 10, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

The Master Composter www.mastercomposter.com

The US Composting Council www.compostingcouncil.org

The Worm Digest www.wormdigest.org

 

Consumer Products

Conscious Consumer Marketplace http://www.newdream.org/marketplace/index.php

Carpet and Rugs http://www.carpet-rug.org/carpet-and-rug-industry/sustainability/sustainable-carpet/sustainable-carpet-list.cfm

EcoLogo http://www.ecologo.org/en/index.asp

Future Solutions, Inc. http://www.futuresolutionsinc.com/

Green Seal http://www.greenseal.org/findaproduct/index.cfm

GreenGuard Environmental Institute http://www.greenguard.org/en/consumers.aspx

Recycled Products Cooperative http://www.recycledproducts.org/

 

Environmental Calculators and Conversion Factors

EPA WARM model http://www.epa.gov/climatechange

Electronic Product Evaluation & Assessment Tool http://www.epeat.net/

Impact Calculator http://www.lowimpactliving.com/pages/impact-calculator/impact-calculator

 

Equipment

BagIt System www.bagitsystem.com/

Busch Systems www.buschsystems.com

Mid-Point – www.midpoint-int.com

Rubbermaid - https://recyclingorganizations.org/

 

Government Agencies

Environmental Protection Agency, www.epa.gov

EPA WasteWise College University Campaign http://www.epa.gov/wastewise/targeted/colleges/cu_index.htm

 

Grants / Funding

Obtaining Grants, R4 Recycling, Chapter 19, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

EPA Funding: http://www.epa.gov/region7/waste/solidwaste/funding.htm

EPA Grants: http://www.epa.gov/region8/recycling/grants.html

Funding Factory: http://www.fundingfactory.com/

State Funding

Arizona: http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/waste/solid/funding.html

California: http://www.swrcb.ca.gov/water_issues/programs/grants_loans/water_recycling/index.shtml

http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/BevContainer/Grants/

Indiana: http://www.in.gov/recycle/5652.htm

New York: http://www.dec.ny.gov/pubs/4776.html

Wisconsin: http://www.dnr.state.wi.us/org/caer/cfa/grants/recycle/efficiency.html

 

Green Building

BuildingGreen http://www.buildinggreen.com/

Build it Green http://www.builditgreen.org/

Building Materials Reuse Association http://www.bmra.org

Construction and Demolition Waste, R4 Recycling, Chapter 15, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

Deconstruction and Reuse Network http://www.reusenetwork.org/

Green Building Basics: http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/greenbuilding/Basics.htm

Oiko’s http://oikos.com/

US Green Build (LEED) www.usgbc.org

 

Green Purchasing / Contracting

Contract Language, R4 Recycling, Chapter 6, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

EnviroCitizen http://www.envirocitizen.org/

Environmental Paper Network Paper Steps: On Campus http://www.environmentalpaper.org/tools.html

Recycled Content Products, R4 Recycling, Chapter 18, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

Toolkit for Soft Drink Contract Revision http://www.nrcrecycles.org

Office of Research Facilities http://orf.od.nih.gov/Environmental+Protection/Green+Purchasing/

EPA http://www.epa.gov/epp/

Rutgers http://greenpurchasing.rutgers.edu/

 

Industry Groups

American Forest and Paper Association http://www.afandpa.org/

Association of Postconsumer Plastics Recyclers http://www.plasticsrecycling.org/

Glass Packaging Institute http://www.gpi.org/

Ecology Action http://www.ecoact.org/index.htm

Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries http://www.isri.org/iMIS15_prod/ISRI/default.aspx

Northeast Recycling Council http://www.nerc.org/

Solid Waste Association of North America http://www.swana.org/

Steel Recycling Institute http://www.recycle-steel.org/

The US Composting Council www.compostingcouncil.org

Waste Age http://wasteage.com/

 

International Recycling

African Recycler’s Association http://africa.recycle.net/

Asian Recycler’s Association http://asia.recycle.net/

Australian Government: Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities http://www.environment.gov.au/settlements/waste/index.html

Canadian Association of Recycling Industries http://www.cari-acir.org/

Central America Recycling http://en.centralamericadata.com/en/search?q=recycling+plant

European Commission http://ec.europa.eu/environment/waste/index.htm

European Recycler’s Exchange http://euro.recycle.net/

India Environment Portal http://www.indiaenvironmentportal.org.in/

International Solid Waste Association http://www.iswa.org/

Mexico: Secretary of the Environment (Spanish) http://www.sma.df.gob.mx/sma/index.php?opcion=27&id=429

Paper Recycling Association of South Africa http://www.prasa.co.za/

Recycle Australia http://www.recycleaustralia.org/

South American Recycling Exchange http://sa.recycle.net/

Waste Management, Pollution Control and Recycling in Africa http://www.mbendi.com/indy/wste/af/p0005.htm

Waste Management, Pollution Control and Recycling in South America

http://www.mbendi.com/indy/wste/sa/index.htm

 

Jobs

Apollo Alliance http://apolloalliance.org/

Good Jobs Green Jobs http://www.greenjobsconference.org/ http://www.greenjobsconference.org/

Greenjobs http://www.greenjobs.com/public/index.aspx

RecyclingJobs.org http://recyclingjobs.com/

Workforce Information Council http://www.workforceinfocouncil.org/GreenJobs.asp

 

Journals/Periodicals/Articles

American Recycler http://www.americanrecycler.com/

Biocycle Magazine http://www.jgpress.com/biocycle.htm

Composting News http://www.recycle.cc/cnpage.htm

Environmental Business Journal http://www.ebiusa.com/

Environmental Magazine http://www.emagazine.com/

Grist http://www.grist.org/

The Journal of Solid Waste Technology and Management http://muse.widener.edu/%7Esxw0004/solid_waste.html

Recycling Today http://www.recyclingtoday.com/

Resource Recycling Magazine http://www.resource-recycling.com/

Scrap Magazine http://www.scrap.org/

Waste and Recycling News http://www.wasterecyclingnews.com/landfill/

 

Higher Education Related Organizations

AASHE: Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education, www.aashe.org

American Association of Community Colleges http://www.aacc.nche.edu/Resources/aaccprograms/sustainable/Pages/whatissustaindev.aspx

American College University President’s Climate Commitment http://www.presidentsclimatecommitment.org/

Clean Air-Cool Planet http://www.cleanair-coolplanet.org/for_campuses.php

College and University Recycling Coalition http://www.curc3r.org/

The Environmental Association for Universities and Colleges http://www.eauc.org.uk/home

Higher Education Associations Sustainability Consortium http://www2.aashe.org/heasc/

Harvard Green Campus Initiative: www.greencampus.harvard.edu

National Wildlife Federation: Campus Ecology Project http://www.nwf.org/Global-Warming/Campus-Solutions.aspx

SCUP: The Society for University and College Planning, www.scup.org

Second Nature: Education for Sustainability http://www.secondnature.org/

University Leaders For A Sustainable Future http://www.ulsf.org/

 

Packaging/Food Service

Eco-Products www.ecoproducts.com

Ecologic Packaging http://eco-friendlypackaging.supplier-manufacturer.com/

Go Green http://gogreenpackaging.com/PP_HBPP.htm?source=adwords?adcopy=CgreenpackagingGecofriendlyfoodpackaging888reduced91019&gclid=CMCVs5PJm6QCFdRU2godtgMCFw

FP International http://www.fpintl.com/?gclid=CPbv2KfJm6QCFZBf2godaF0vFA

 

Paper/Office Supplies

Chlorine Free Products Association www.chlorinefreeproducts.org

Conservatree http://www.conservatree.com/

Environmental Paper Network http://www.environmentalpaper.org/

New Leaf Paper http://www.newleafpaper.com/

Tree Cycle http://www.treecycle.com/

 

Recycling:

Associated Recyclers of Wisconsin (AROW) http://www.arow-online.org/

EPA- Recycling Market Development http://www.epa.gov/epawaste/conserve/rrr/rmd/index.htm

http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

Integrated Campus Recycling and Waste Management Guide

National Recycling Coalition http://www.nrc-recycle.org/

Professional Recyclers of Pennsylvania (PROP) http://www.proprecycles.org/

Recycling Organizations of North America (RONA) http://www.recyclingorganizations.org/

 

Safety

OSHA www.osha.gov

NSF International http://www.nsf.org/

 

Special Events

Special Events Recycling, R4 Recycling, Chapter 9, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

Special Events Recycling Guide www.dca.state.ga.us/development/.../publications/SpecEventRecycle.pdf

Ecology Action http://www.ecoact.org/Programs/Zero_Waste/Special_Event_Recycling/index.htm

Waste Audits

How to Conduct a Waste Audit http://www.solidwastedistrict.com/projects/waste_audit.htm

Solid Waste Audit, R4 Recycling, Chapter 8, http://r4.ucdavis.edu/publications/manual/manual_index.html

Waste Audit Tool http://www.wasteaudittool.com/

Department of Environmental Protection http://www.dep.state.pa.us/dep/deputate/airwaste/wm/recycle/FACTS/comRec.htm

Waste Reduction:

Making Less Garbage on Campus: A Hands On Guide http://informinc.org/xsum_lesscampus.php

Opt-Out Registry and other Junk Mail Reduction http://www.newdream.org/

Practice Greenhealth http://cms.h2e-online.org/ee/waste-reduction/

Waste Reduction Technology http://www.wastereduction.org/

Minnesota pollution Control Agency http://www.pca.state.mn.us/index.php/topics/preventing-waste-and-pollution/waste-reduction/waste-reduction.html

 

Zero Waste:

Eco-Cycle http://www.ecocycle.org/zero/index.cfm

Grassroots Recycling Network: Zero Waste http://www.grrn.org/zerowaste/index.html

Zero Waste Alliance http://www.zerowaste.org/

Zero Waste International Alliance http://www.zwia.org/

 

CAMPUS RESOURCES

9.0

AB:jd

 

Would you like to submit an article or weblink? If so, you must login first.